MX Large / Gajser wins MXGP qualifier

Riding sick early in the day, the HRC rider Tim Gajser has won the MXGP qualification race at the Grand Prix , after leading easily and then putting up with a typical Antonio Cairoli charge at the end of the moto. Eventually Gajser won by just half a second from Cairoli and Paulin a further 15 seconds back.

“I actually only felt sick in the first practice,” Gajser said. “Then in the second practice and the race I started feeling better. So tomorrow it should be ok. I just hope the track is lets with the ruts and stuff, it should be better tomorrow. The race went well, I had a good start and was able to move into the lead early. I made a couple of mistakes late in the race and Antonio could catch me, but I could hold on for the win.”

Gajser takes the holeshot from Cairoli, with Febvre in 8th and Herlings back in 15th place. Top ten on lap one are Gajser, Cairoli, Nagl, Guillod, Paulin, Tonus, Febvre, Simpson, Anstie, and Tixier.

Passing all over the place as at the end of the lap its Gajserr leading by two seconds, then Cairoli, Paulin, Bobryshev, Febvre, Van Horebeek, Tonus, Anstie, Nagl, Desalle, Butron, Tixier and Herlings. Simpson is in last after a solid start.

Gajser is flying with a three second lead over Cairoli on lap two, with Paulin a further four seconds back. Febvre is all over Bobryshev for fourth place.

After four laps the tp tne is Gajser, Cairoli, Paulin, Bobryshev, Febvre, Van Horebeek, Tonus, Anstie, Nagl, Desalle, Tixier, Butron, Strijbos and Lupino. Herlings can’t get out of 15th spot.

Looking a lot smoother Gajser is now four seconds ahead of Cairoli and cruising. After seven laps its Gajser, Cairoli, Paulin, Bobryshev, Febvre, Van Horebeek, Tonus, Anstie, Desalle, Tixier, Nagl, Butron, Lupino, Coldenhoff and Herlings.

Febvre went down and lost a handful of positions and handing his team-mate Van Horebeek fifth position. Herlings seems satisfied with his 15th place with two laps to go.

Cairoli started catching the world MXGP champion with three laps to go, and while Gajser didn’t look like he was pushing too hard, the gap was getting closer and closer.

Gajser held on, and still looked in control despite the charge from the Italian legend.

1 243 Gajser, Tim SLO AMZS Honda 25:05.634
2 222 Cairoli, Antonio ITA FMI KTM 25:06.251
3 21 Paulin, Gautier FRA MCM Husqvarna 25:21.543
4 777 Bobryshev, Evgeny RUS MFR Honda 25:23.032
5 89 Van Horebeek, Jeremy BEL FMB Yamaha 25:25.657
6 4 Tonus, Arnaud SUI FMS Yamaha 25:27.190
7 461 Febvre, Romain FRA FFM Yamaha 25:31.457
8 99 Anstie, Max GBR ACU Husqvarna 25:34.555
9 25 Desalle, Clement BEL FMB Kawasaki 25:35.896
10 911 Tixier, Jordi FRA FFM Kawasaki 25:37.354
11 12 Nagl, Maximilian GER DMSB Husqvarna 25:39.397
12 17 Butron, Jose ESP RFME KTM 25:48.865
13 259 Coldenhoff, Glenn NED KNMV KTM 25:55.268
14 22 Strijbos, Kevin BEL FMB Suzuki 26:05.902
15 77 Lupino, Alessandro ITA FMI Honda 26:07.907
16 84 Herlings, Jeffrey NED KNMV KTM 26:10.065
17 24 Simpson, Shaun GBR ACU Yamaha 26:12.030
18 7 Leok, Tanel EST EMF Husqvarna 26:12.778
19 999 Goncalves, Rui POR FMP Husqvarna 26:17.870
20 92 Guillod, Valentin SUI FMS Honda 26:18.155
21 45 Nicholls, Jake GBR ACU KTM 26:29.757


Next Post

Previous Post

Leave a Reply

© 2020 valeriomontanaro

%d bloggers like this: